Performance and XR Virtual Reality Symposium

Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020) is a Virtual Reality Symposium for Canadian artists and XR technologists, exploring creation and performance in XR. An opportunity for creators and digital content creators to come together to share discoveries and build partnerships for future collaborations, PXR2020 features series of presentations, discussions and showcases by artists, technologists and innovators in a virtual environment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The symposium occurs over four sessions in Virtual Reality, and includes a Keynote presentation by Yelena Rachitsky, Executive Producer at Oculus Experience, and Endnote presentation by interdisciplinary artist Casey Koyczan. Canadian theatre artists will examine virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality (collectively known as XR) in the creation of live performance, developing and sharing strategies with industry leaders and XR Programmers. With virtual presentations of artistic works by Electric Company Theatre, Jo Jack et John and others, PXR2020 aims to foster creative experimentation with these emerging mediums in dialogue with the IT sector.

Registration opens on August 4, 2020, online at www.performanceandxr.com

Participants will require a VR Headset such as the Oculus Quest to take part in the virtual symposium. Stay tuned for discounted Headset offerings, access points and scholarship opportunities.

For more information visit www.performanceandxr.com and sign up for updates on Symposium registration, presenters, activities and access, or email info@electriccompanytheatre.com

Symposium Overview (Subject to change):

October 2, 3, 9, 10, 2020
12pm PDT (1pm MDT, 2pm CDT, 3pm EDT, 4pm ADT, 4:30pm Newfoundland)

Produced by Single Thread Theatre Co. in association with Electric Company Theatre.

In partnership with the Centre for Entertainment Arts (Langara College), the Vancouver VR Community, and Outside the March Theatre Company.

Supported by the Canada Council for the Arts

Interested in partnership, or providing an access point at your business or venue? Email clayton@electriccompanytheatre.com for more details.