Kim Collier, Artistic Director & Co-Founder
Jonathon Young, Artistic Associate & Co-Founder
David Hudgins, Artistic Associate & Co-Founder
Kevin Kerr, Artistic Associate & Co-Founder
Shantini Klaassen, Managing Producer
Jennifer Swan, Company & Financial Manager

2017 Senior Artist in Residence: Daniel Brooks

Emira Mears, President
Brian Paterson, Vice President
Tara Rasmussen & Katie Wyka, Co-Secretary
Tania Lo, Treasurer (interim)
Michael Fergusson, Cheri Hessami, Veronica S.C. Rossos, and Laara Sadiq.

If you are interested in joining the Electric Company Theatre Board of Directors, or a committee – please contact us at info@electriccompanytheatre.com.

Electric Company Theatre was originally formed as a collective in 1996 by Kim Collier (Siminovitch Prize winner for theatre direction), David Hudgins, Jonathon Young and Kevin Kerr (Governor General’s Award winner in playwriting), who met while training at Vancouver’s Studio 58.

A key component of the Artistic Direction is responsibility to the original members of the collective. In this model, the AD is not the sole source of the artistic vision (as we recognize the unique artistic sensibility and vitality of the collective), but the guardian.

Kim is a Director, Creator, Teacher, Actress and the co-founder of Electric Company Theatre where she was Artistic Producer for 15 years and continues to work as the Artistic Director.  With Electric Company she was the co-creator / director of a large body of work that toured nationally including: Tear The Curtain, Studies in Motion, The Score, The One That Got Away, Brilliant and No Exit; a live film adaptation of Sartre’s classic play. The work has been presented at Canadian Stage, FTA, The National Arts Centre, American Conservatory Theatre, San Jose Rep, Theatre Calgary, The Citadel Theatre and beyond. Kim directed a film version of their play The Score ( Screen Siren Pictures, CBC) which touring film festivals internationally. Locally she has co-created and directed such notable projects as  The Wake, The Fall, At Home with Dick and Jane. The last few years she was Resident Artist at Canadian Stage and the inaugural director of their new MFA in Directing with York University.  Recently she directed Angels in America: Millennium and Perestroika (Arts Club Theatre) a new interpretation of Sweeney Todd for Vancouver Opera, Saint Joan (Arts Club Theatre), The Great Gatsby (Theatre Calgary), Titus, Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet (Bard on the Beach) and Red (Canadian Stage, Vancouver Playhouse, Citadel Theatre). Kim was honored to receive an Honorary Doctorate of Letters  from Thompson Rivers University.  Kim is the recipient of the prestigious Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize for Directing; 4 Jessie Richardson wards and a Sterling Award for Direction. She is the recipient of the Vancouver Mayors Arts Award and is a Graduate of Studio 58 as an Actress.

Young, Jonathon

Jonathon Young is one of the co-founders of Electric Company Theatre. In 2015 he was commissioned by Nederlands Dans Theatre to write The Statement a one-act play directed by Crystal Pite. The play was performed at New York City Centre in November 2016. With Electric Company he has collaborated on the making of over 20 original productions including: Tear the Curtain! (a film/theatre hybrid for Arts Club Theatre and Canadian Stage), No Exit (a re-working of Jean-Paul Sartre’s play performed in San Francisco at the American Conservatory Theatre) and Studies in Motion (Vancouver Playhouse, Edmonton Citadel, Theatre Calgary, and Canadian Stage in Toronto). In addition, Jonathon works across Canada as a freelance actor. Some recent productions include: All But Gone (Necessary Angel, Toronto) The Waiting Room (Arts Club Theatre, Vancouver), The Great Gatsby (Theatre Calgary), Hamlet (Bard on the Beach Festival, Vancouver). Recent television projects include Detective Hyde on Impastor and four seasons on Sanctuary as Nikola Tesla. He has been nominated for a UK National Dance Award and is the recipient of several Jessie Richardson Awards for his acting and writing.